The Best Diaper Pail – My Recommendation

Playtex® Diaper Genie® Essentials Disposal System

Playtex® Diaper Genie® Essentials Disposal System

No matter how many Infant Care Classes you attend, you will not be prepared enough for the first diaper change you will be doing, with the sticky, hard, messy, meconium-filled poopy diaper staring you in your face and demanding an immediate reflex reaction to dispose of it in a rabbit hole that you never have to go into! And then it strikes you – where do I put this poopy diaper? Do I just throw it in the trash? Will it stink up the whole house if I do?

I personally used the trash can religiously for the first few months of the baby’s life, and trust me, my house never smelled bad! But the real nightmare started when the little pooper started eating solid foods regularly (at around 7 months’ age). I couldn’t enter the house (not just the bathroom!) without being fully equipped with an inhaler and gas mask.

This is where a specially designed diaper pail comes into play. And then the most obvious question – which one should I buy?

My recommendation:

This is one of the most stinkiest decisions I have had to make as a new parent, and I’m proud of the fact that I do not have any regrets about it even today. I have been using the Playtex® Diaper Genie®Essentials Disposal System for over a year now, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

  1. Odor Control — I do not observe any foul odors at all except when changing the bags (which is expected). I even left out closed bags full of used diapers in the bathroom for a week because it was too cold to go outside and drop them off in the trash, and the room STILL didn’t smell!
  2. Total Cost of Ownership — I bought the Diaper Pail in Burlington Baby Depot for $20.
    • I end up buying the 3pk Diaper Genie Disposal System Refills for $18 (usually $20 at other stores). I was buying the 3pk every 2 months when the baby was younger (smaller sized diaper but more frequent), but now that he is a toddler and the size of the dirty diaper is bigger (but less frequent), I tend to buy one 3pk every 1.5 months.
  3. Ease of Diaper Disposal — I use both hands to roll up and wrap up the used diaper, so it fits in better in the Genie, and also locks up the odors within itself. There is no leg switch to open the diaper pail. I use one hand to open the lid of the pail and I need to push the diaper into the groove so it disappears into it completely and locks in the odors. The lid falls back on the pail, but I put some pressure on it to lock it tight. So basically it can be used one-handed.
  4. Ease of Bag Change – The pail opens in the middle when you press the white button. When you change the Bag, you would cut it with the inbuilt cutter and tightly knot the bag with used diapers. Expect some odor due to escaping gases from the bag. Now back to the pail – you tie another knot at the END of the bag (where you cut it earlier) and leave it in and close the lid. Do not pull the bag out further because each time you put the diaper in, the bag also slides in a little.

I have not tried any other Diaper Pails because I never felt the need to replace this one, but I can honestly say I have never had any problems with this one.

Drop a line here!

