Breastmilk Storage Bags

Breastmilk Storage-Icon

Once I started pumping more often, I started producing more milk. I bought a few breastmilk storage bags for easy storage and transport of breast milk.

After doing a lot of research, I learned that it is not really necessary to only use the same brand of storage bags as that of the pump. It is OK to use a brand of storage bags that is different from the brand of your breast pump, as long as you are not planning on pumping directly into the bags.

For example, I use a Medela breast pump, and I use Lansinoh storage bags to store the milk. I purchased one box of 25 bags + one box of 100 bags from Diapers.com. I was not using as many as I hoped I would, so I returned the box of 100 bags and only have the 25 with me. I still use the bottles directly to store the milk in the refrigerator.

Lansinoh Milk Storage Bags

Pros:

  • The Lansinoh bags received a lot of excellent reviews on various websites.
  • They are less expensive compared to Medela and other brands.
  • These bags hold 6 ounces of breastmilk each – perfect for 1 or 2 feedings, depending on baby’s age.
  • Are pre-sterilized – they can be used directly from the box and do not need to be washed before using.
  • The bags store flat in freezer, take up less space than storing all the bottles directly.
  • The seal is pretty good – never had a leak so far.
  • The manufacturer does not recommend reusing the bags, but I washed and rinsed them thoroughly and reused them successfully multiple times without any leaks.

Cons:

  • The only major con I noticed was that the bags have a small base which helps them stand on their own. But sometimes, the base would become wider, making it hard to read the volume of milk accurately. I bypassed this issue by noting the volume of milk in the bottle before pouring it into the bags, and writing it down on the bag. When it is time to feed, once again I use the measurement on the bottle after I pour the milk into it from the bag (and do not rely on the measurements on the bag).
Drop a line here!

